Next, we look at the precautions for driving a rental car in Hawaii.
In the state of Hawaii, children between the ages of 0 and 7 are required to wear either a baby seat, a child seat, or a booster seat.
- Infant seat (backward): Infants from 0 to under 1 year old or weighing at least 20 pounds (about 9 kilos)
- Child seat: Infants 1 year or older to 4 years old, or weighing at least 20 pounds (about 9 kg) or more
- Booster seat: Children aged over 4 to under 8 years old, or weighing no more than 40 pounds (about 18 kg) and 4 feet 9 inches (about 144.8cm) tall
The above is the basic guidelines. As for the infant seat, it is necessary to install it backwards. In addition, in light of the above guidelines, the American Academy of Pediatrics (The American Academy of Pediatrics) has recently stated that infants and toddlers "sit backwards for as long as possible until they reach the weight and height limits of the instant seat. ", And" Most recent infantsheets correspond to 2-year-olds."
In addition, the Hawaii State Guidelines also state that booster seats should be used even at least 8 years old if the weight and height are less than the above provisions. And about these seats, none of which are used in the back seat.
In case of violation, a fine of $100 to $500 and a 4-hour course will be imposed. In order to consider the safety of children and not waste money and time, the use of appropriate child seats is essential.
Child in the car left alone
In Hawaii, it is forbidden to leave children in the car. Strictly, it is illegal to leave a child aged nine or younger in a car for more than five minutes and without the attendant of a person aged 12 or older. A fine of $200 to $500 for violations. In Hawaii, passers-by will call the police immediately, so be careful.
Drunk driving is policed more severely than Japan. If caught drunk driving, the number of arrests will impose the following penalties:
|Re-offending (second time)
|Re-offending (3rd time)
|1. License Suspension Period
|Less than 1-2 years
|1 year ~ 5 years
|48 hours ~ 5 days
|5 days to 14 days
|10 days to 30 days
|$150 to $1,000
|$500 to $2,500
|4. Social service
|Over 72 hours
|5. Study time
* In the case of the first offense, one or more penalties of 2. to 5., and in the case of recidivism (second time), one or more penalties of 1. to 4.
If an emergency vehicle approaches, such as an ambulance or a fire engine, make sure to give way to the emergency vehicle at the end of the road. After an emergency vehicle passes, it is usually necessary to wait until it begins to move in order from the car ahead. It is a violation of manners and dangerous to start moving immediately following the emergency vehicle. If your car is entering the intersection when an emergency vehicle approaches, let's quickly cross the intersection and stop at the right end of the crossing. By the way, the color of the ambulance is the same as in Japan and it is white, so you may not feel uncomfortable, but when it comes to fire engines, it is "yellow" instead of red. I think it's easy to see it because it's coming close with a siren blaring, but let's keep it in your mind lightly, saying that the fire engine is yellow.
In Hawaii, pedestrian priority is thorough. In fact, there is a law called the Crosswalk Act (Crosswalk Act), which determines that when a pedestrian is walking on a pedestrian crossing, the pedestrian must stop until the pedestrian passes half the pedestrian crossing. You will be fined $150-$1,000 if you do not. (A pedestrian, on the other hand, must also pay a $130 fine if an officer finds him crossing a path other than a pedestrian crossing where there is a pedestrian crossing. If a pedestrian is approaching a pedestrian crossing, whether in a shopping center such as Ala Moana, it will slow down or stop to give way to the pedestrian, regardless of the size of the road. With such a pedestrian priority on a drive in Hawaii, let's drive you can afford.
Once the yellow school bus stops and the red hazard on and off begins to flash, the trailing vehicle has to stop and wait until the children's on and off is finished without overtaking. Outside of the road where the median is located, if a school bus stops in the oncoming lane, it must also stop until the end of boarding and disembarking the children. There is a risk that children who get off the bus will jump out, so it is a rule that the surrounding cars stop and wait.