CAR Rental Requirements
Under Hawaii state law, Japanese are allowed to drive a car with valid Japanese Driver’s License if it’s within 1 year after entering the U.S. In order to prove that it’s within 1 year after the entry to the U.S., please be sure to carry your passport at all times. Nevertheless, there are many cases where Japanese are caught by local police officers as unlicensed driving, just because the local police officers cannot recognize Japanese Driver’s License. As recommended by Consulate General of Japan in Honolulu, obtaining International Driver’s License is strongly recommended.
The minimum age to rent a vehicle is 21 years of age. However due to insurance, “Young Driver Fee” is applied to your rental, if you are between the ages of 21 and 24. (1 driver/1 day $15.00)
You cannot drive with only International Driver’s License. Please be sure to carry the original driver’s license issued by your country. Also, credit card is needed upon your rental.
Yes, you can rent a car with a Driver’s License in the U.S. Please note that you’ll also need your credit card upon your rental.
Please make a reservation from the “Contact Form” in our Website (You can simply press “Make Reservations” button on the top page). Alternatively, you can call (1-808-387-2769) or email (firstname.lastname@example.org) us.
Yes, it’ll be in Hawaii local time. Please be careful to enter the correct time upon making reservations.
We accept reservations till a day before the rental start date. Please call us if you’d like to rent on the day you contact us. (Please be advised that we may not be able to meet your request depending on the reservations situation.)
All of our cars are non-smoking.
Under the Hawaii State Law, child seats requirements are determined by the age. Please note the following:
- 0～Under 4 years old: Child Seat at the rear seat.
- Above 4 years old～Under 8 years old: Booster Seat at the rear seat.
We have child seat for 0～Under 1 year old, which can be placed rear facing.
Yes, children (including babies) are counted the same as adults. Children under age of 8 would need child/booster seats therefore space as same as adults is needed.
Yes, all of our cars are automatic.
Yes, all of our cars are left-hand drive.
In order to make the rental process in front of the hotel fast and smooth, please pay the full amount in advance at the time of booking.
Yes, even if you’re paying by cash, we’d need your credit card number as a security deposit. Please show the credit card under the renter’s name.
No cancellation fee if you cancel 2 days before your rental start date. If cancelled a day before, then 50%, and if cancelled on the day of your rental start date or returning your car earlier than the rental end date, it’s 100% and no fee is returned.
Liability Protection (LP), Supplement Liability Insurance (SLI), Personal Accidental Insurance (PAI), and Personal Effects Coverage (PEC) are included. For more details, please refer here.
Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) is the maximum amount that the customer will be responsible for in the event of an accident. For example, if the repair fee in the event of an accident costs $ 2,000 USD, the customer will be responsible for $ 1,000 USD. Please see here for more details.
- Please be sure to call the police and ambulance (both telephones are 911) at the accident site when the accident happens. Please get an accident certificate (accident report number). ※ If you don’t make a request at the accident site, you will not be able to obtain an accident certificate. Please note that the insurance / compensation system will not be applied if there is no accident certificate.
- Please make a note of the license plate, driver’s name, address, telephone number, and Driver’s License number of the person involved in the accident. (It’s easy to take a photo of the front and back of the driver’s license)
- Please contact us and fill out the accident report.
Yes, tourists are subject to traffic violations. Parking violations caused by parking in the handicap space are be severely punished. In addition, there are places where there is a time limit to street parking. If the parking time is exceeded, it will be subject to violations. Driving while using a mobile phone is prohibited in Hawaii. In addition, high fines are imposed for violations such as speed violations, school bus priority violations, and dangerous driving. These fines need to be paid by the customer before returning to Japan.
Please contact us 2 hours before your desired return time/date.
If you’d like to return after 7:00pm, late pick up fees apply. (7:00pm-8:00pm: $8.00, 8:00pm-9:00pm: $15.00) Please note that we do not deliver/pick up the car between 9:00pm to 7:00am. Please contact us in advance.
No, gas fee needs to be paid by the customer. Please fill up the gas upon returning the car. In case you don’t have any time to fill up the gas, we’ll ask you to pay the calculated gas fee using our gas rate.
Please contact in advance for extension of your rental period. Depending on the reservation situation, we may not be able to meet your request. (Please note that you will be charged a late penalty for any extension without permission.)